Assault and Battery
Battery is an enhanceable offense. Simple battery is a misdemeanor of the first degree. However, if you are facing a battery charge and you were previously convicted of battery, the new offense will be classified as a third degree felony…
Domestic violence includes acts of battery, assault, stalking, kidnapping, false imprisonment or any criminal act that results in physical injury or death of a family or household member by another family or household member…
Possession of not more than 20 grams of marijuana (cannabis or pot) is a misdemeanor of the first degree. If the amount exceeds 20 grams, you are facing a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5000.00.
It is unlawful to posess certain substances known as “controlled” substances in Florida. Florida law classifies controlled substances acoridng to specific Schedules. These Scehdules are found in Florida Statutes 893.03 and range from Schedule I to Schedule V based on their potential for abuse and addiction.
Theft is the taking of someone else’s property without their permission and with the intent to permanently or temporarily deprive that person of that property or any benefit from the property. Theft charges can range from misdemeanors to first degree felony offenses.
DUI/Driving Under the Influence
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a common crime. Many individuals charged with DUI have no previous convictions. A DUI is not a simple traffic charge. Florida treats a DUI as a criminal charge and it can be one of the most expensive and confusing legal experiences.
A traffic offense can be classified as a civil infraction or a criminal violation. Civil offenses include but are not limited to, speeding tickets, violation of traffic signals, seat belt violations and certain offenses relating to insurance and registration of motor vehicles, etc.
Violation of Probation
If you are charged with a crime, in lieu of jail or a prison sentence you may be placed on probation or community control as a part of Sentencing. Probation or Community Controls normally require supervision with the requirement that you adherence to certain conditions or terms.
If you have been found guilty after trial or feel that you have been unlawfully sentenced you may be able to file an Appeal with a higher court. Appeals are time sensitive. An appeal must be filed within 30 days of sentencing.
An arrest can have devastating effects on your career, education and even on your ability to obtain a loan or find housing. In certain cases, we can seal or expunge your criminal records.
A juvenile delinquent faces the same type of charge as an adult. Juvenile crimes include theft, burglary, trespassing, driving under the influence, possession charges, battery, assault, etc. A juvenile charged with certain felony offense may be charged as an adult.